The School formed two student advisory groups (previously known as consultative committees) in 2009 – one for undergraduate and postgraduate coursework students, and one for honours and research higher degree students. 

Purpose and Operation of Groups:

 
The role of the groups is two-way communication:
  • the School consults and advises students on policy developments and changes affecting them;
  • students raise concerns and make suggestions about the operation of the School as it affects them.
Nominations for student representatives are called as indicated:
  • for undergraduate programs, from those enrolled in a key compulsory course from one of the majors administered by the School in each year of the BSc/BAdvSc and BBiotech (Hons) programs;
  • for postgraduate coursework programs, from those enrolled in the programs administered by the School;
  • for Honours, from those enrolled in Honours programs in the School;
  • for postgraduate research programs, from those enrolled as candidates in the School.
Where there is more than one nominee for a position, nominees will be asked to write a short statement on their suitability for the role. Statements shall be considered by a group consisting of the Head of School;  Chair of Teaching & Learning Committee (as relevant);  the Chair, Research Higher Degree Studies Committee (as relevant);  the Director, Biotechnology Programs (as relevant);  and the secretary to Group meetings, who shall choose the successful nominee. Attempts will be made to achieve a balance of genders and international/domestic students in the student representative membership.
 
Student members of the Group who are eligible to continue to serve on the Group from one year to the next will be invited to remain as members, so that a mix of experienced and new members is achieved.  In this case, nominations for the constituency concerned will not be called until there is a vacancy.
 
Meetings shall generally take place at least twice each semester, typically in Weeks 3/4 and 10. Other meetings can be arranged as the need arises.  Students will provide the Chair of each Group, who ensures the orderly conduct of the meetings, and may provide a Student Secretary, who assists the Staff Secretary to assemble items for the meeting agendas and to check the drafts of minutes.  
 
There is a formal, minuted session where items are raised, results from previous enquiries are reported, and information is exchanged.  This can be followed by an informal session where a more free exchange can take place. Meetings typically occur over lunchtime, with food supplied by the School.
 
The student population is to be emailed ahead of each meeting so that individuals can raise issues with their representatives. Minutes of meetings are to be made available on the School’s public website and reports provided to the School's Teaching & Learning Committee.

Membership of the Coursework Students Advisory Group (Consultative Committee) 2018:

 
1.      Nine student representatives (from key compulsory courses of each year of the BSc/BAdvSc, and from the BBiotech, postgraduate Biotechnology suite, postgraduate Molecular Biology suite):
 

Program/Yr

Course

Name

Email

Photo

BSc/BAdvSc(Hons) 1

BIOL1020 and CHEM1100, intending to enrol in CHEM1200 in 2nd

Miss Zoe Garson

Miss Elizaveta Plakhotnik

 

z.garson@uq.net.au

e.plakhotnik@uq.net.au

 

 

 

 

 


 

BSc/BAdvSc(Hons) 2 – Chemistry majors

CHEM2050

Ms Alexandria Harris

 

 

alexandria.harris@uq.net.au


 

 


 

BSc/BAdvSc(Hons) 2 – Molecular Biosciences majors

BIOC2000, intending to enrol in BIOL2202 in 2nd

Mr Wilson Tait

 
w.tait@uq.net.au

 


 

BSc/BAdvSc(Hons) 3 – Chemistry majors

All CHEM3XXX courses

Miss Alicia Kirk 

Mr Kaiyin Wu

Mr Nicholas See

alicia.kirk@uq.net.au

kaiyin.wu@uq.net.au

n.see@uq.net.au

 


 

 

 

BSc/BAdvSc(Hons) 3 – Molecular Biosciences majors

All SCMB-owned 3rd level non-CHEM courses

Ms Phoebe Duncombe

Mr Liam De Villiers

 

p.duncombe@uq.net.au

liam.devilliers@uq.net.au

 


 

BBiotech(Hons) 1

n/a

Miss Susanna Huang

 


susanna.huang@uq.net.au


 

BBiotech(Hons) 2/3

n/a

Ms Leslie Karina MACAS JACOME

 

  leslie.macasjacome@uq.net.au

 

 

PG Biotech suite

n/a

Ms Nahain Binte Aziz

 

 

 nahianbinte.aziz@uq.net.au

 


 
PG MolBiol and Bioinf suites n/a

Mr Sri Ram Arunachalam

Mr Mehershad Wadia

 

 

m.wadia@uq.net.au

 

 


 2.      Staff Representatives:

Head of School (or nominee) - Dr Simon Worrall (nominee)
Chair, Teaching & Learning Committee - Dr Joanne Blanchfield
Secretary -  Dr Denise Adams
 
 

Membership of the Research Students Advisory Group (Consultative Committee) 2018:

 
1.     Two student representatives from the Honours programs of the School and a number of  MPhil and PhD students of the School (representing a range of disciplines):
 

Program/Group

 Name

 Location

 Email

Photo

HDR (Upton Group) Clara Jiang 76-4 j.jiang@uq.edu.au  
HDR (De Voss Group) James Beckett 68-10 uqjbeck5@uq.edu.au  
HDR (Moore Group) Bowie Chong 68-8 sk.chong@uq.edu.au  
HDR (Burn Group) Vaidehi Pandit 68-9 v.pandit@uq.edu.auu  

HDR (Kobe Group)

Maxwell Rank

76-3

maxwell.rank@uq.net.au

 

HDR (Fortes Group)

Sajid Tahir

76-5

m.tahir@uq.net.au

 

HDR (Guddat Group)

Kushboo Patel

76-3

kushboo.patel@uq.net.au

 

HDR (Fraser Group)

Sheena Chua

76-3

sheena.chua@uq.net.au

 

HDR (Krenske Group)

Yuk Ping Chin

68-8

y.chin@uq.net.au

 

Hons (Hall Group)

Sabrina Sadiq

76-5

sabrina.sadiq@uq.net.au

 

Hons (Fraser Group)

Garrick Spencer

76-3

garrick.spencer@uq.net.au

 

 
 2.      Staff Representatives:

Head of School - Prof Paul Young
Postgraduate Coordinator  - A/Prof Stuart Kellie
Early Career Researcher Respresentative - Dr Rochelle Soo
Secretary - Tess Dobinson

Minutes of meetings:

Coursework Students Advisory Group

Research Students Advisory Group

 

 

Student Advisory Groups section

Research Students Advisory Group minutes

The minutes of the meetings of the Research Students Advisory Group (known as the Research Students Consultative Committee until 27 August 2013) are viewable (pdf format) via the links here:
Go to top