Who won a Dopey?

17 Nov 2017

The School's fourth annual staff excellence awards ceremony was held 1 November 2017 along with a ceremony to recognise the top-performing tutors of first semester 2017.

Excellence Awardees were nominated by staff and assessed against published criteria by a panel constituted for each prize. 

Each winning individual or group received a framed certificate, a $300 retail gift voucher and a 3D print of a perpetual trophy. 

The perpetual trophies are displayed on Level 3 of the Chemistry Building, adjacent to the School reception desk.  Each trophy is a glass representation of a molecule, made by UQ Glassblowing Services within the School.  The winners of each year's four primary awards are displayed on a panel next to each trophy.  The first molecule trophy that was blown was Dopamine.  Hence the awards are known locally as 'The Dopeys'.

Staff Excellence award winners able to attend the ceremony, L to R: Jack Wang, David Rosolen, Rochelle Soo, Elizabeth Krenske, Robert Lang and Jy Chartres.

The 2017 winners are:

  • Outstanding Contribution to Education - Jack Wang
  • Outstanding Contribution to Reserach - Elizabeth Krenske
  • Oustanding Contribution to Engagement - Gary Schenk
  • Oulstanding Contribution to Service  - The Chemistry Second and Third Level Courses Teaching Laboratory Services Team - David Roselen, Robert Lang and Jy Chartres
  • High Impact Research Achievement by an Early Career Researcher - Rochelle Soo
  • Higher Degree by Research Supervision Excellence - Bostjan Kobe
The top-performing tutors of first semester 2017 who were able to attend the ceremony.

The ceremony also recognised the efforts of the top tutors from first semester 2017, as measured by scored feedback from students and staff.  Winners received a $50 Coles-Myer voucher and a certificate.  They are:

  • Kylie AGNEW-FRANCIS for CHEM3001 (and a previous winner)
  • Imogen BERMINGHAM  for MICR3002 (and a previous winner)
  • Jed BURNS for CHEM3001 (and a previous winner)
  • Gareth DOHERTY for CHEM1200
  • Wai Soon ENG for BIOC7004
  • Clare FLAKELAR for CHEM1100
  • Jozef KISTEMAKER for CHEM1100
  • Janina LADWIG for CHEM1100
  • Soi LAW for BIOL3003 Practicals
  • Meepa LOKUGE for BIOC2000 ALLURE (and a previous winner)
  • Joseph LOVIE-TOON for CHEM1100
  • Tatiana MURESHEVA for CHEM1100
  • Arti SINGH for CHEM3001 (and a previous winner)
  • Emily STRONG for MICR3003