Presenter: Professor Andrew B Holmes AM FRS FAA, CSIRO Division of Materials Science and Engineering; University of Melbourne School of Chemistry, Bio21 Institute ; Imperial College Department of Chemistry

About Bertram Dillon Steele Lecture

Bertram Dillon Steele
Professor Bertram Dillon Steele

The Bertram Dillon Steele Lecture commemorates UQ’s founding Professor of Chemistry, Bertram Dillon Steele, one of the original four professors appointed to the University.

Professor Steele was also the first president of the University’s Professorial Board (now known as the Academic Board) and chaired the Royal Commission on Prickly Pear, once an environmental scourge in Queensland.  

The lecture was founded in 1982 by the UQ Chemical Society within the then Department of Chemistry.

Read more about Professor Steele on our history page.