SCMB team rewarded for teaching and learning excellence

21 Dec 2017

The First Year Chemistry Program has been recognised nationally in the 2017 Australian Awards for University Teaching, announced recently by Minister for Education and Training, Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham.

School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences team

The School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences team comprises: Associate Professor Joanne Blanchfield, Dr Denise Adams, Dr Andrew Allsebrook, Dr Bruce D'Arcy, Professor Mary Garson, Dr Efpraxia Kartsonaki, Associate Professor Gwendolyn Lawrie, Professor James De Voss, Associate Professor Mark Riley, and Dr Philip Sharpe.

It also includes many members of the SCMB staff who contribute to delivering first year chemistry courses.

Their award recognised innovation and flexibility in curricula, learning and teaching.

Over 3500 students from 47 different programs of study enrol in The University of Queensland’s first year chemistry (FYC) course annually.

Their citation read:

“Since 2012 the FYC teaching team, comprising academic and professional staff, has delivered a program that ensures learning progressions maximise student outcomes across a suite of five courses over three semesters.

“The FYC curriculum integrates and embeds innovative teaching and learning practices, enhanced through technology and informed by pedagogical research.

“The program has enhanced student learning through flexible and multimodal delivery of learning environments, assessment and learning support.”

The Department of Education and Training hosted an Awards ceremony on Thursday 14 December in Melbourne.

For details of all award winners read the UQ News story.